How to transfer settings and add-ons from an old to a new version of Blender

Blender is very dynamically developed, so new versions of the program appear regularly. However, having downloaded the next release from the Blender website, we always need to configure it in a convenient way.

In order not to manually reset all personal user settings and reinstall all add-ons, we can quickly transfer settings and add-ons from the previous version to the new version of Blender.

  1. When we start Blender for the first time, in the splash screen we can press the “Load 2.xx Settings” button.

After that, settings and add-ons from the version indicated on the button will be transferred to the current version of Blender.

  1. Or, if we want to control the process of transferring settings ourselves, we can manually copy files with settings and add-ons.

Open the following directory on your computer:

c:\Users\_user_name_\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\

It will contain a list of directories with the names of the different Blender versions previously installed on your computer.

Make a copy of the folder with the version from which you want to take settings and add-ons and then rename it to the number of the new version of Blender.

When starting, Blender will pick up the settings from the new directory you created.

Nikita

Author: Nikita

Blender add-ons developer and articles writer.